Developmental evaluators, where are you?

I’m Carolyn, I work as an independent evaluator in Vancouver, BC, Canada. My practice is increasingly moving into primarily developmental evaluation work, and I’m really hopeful that this discussion board can become a place to have deep conversations with other developmental evaluators as we figure this niche out. I’m in a constant state of improv and invention myself. Books are a great resource, but a thriving community of practice is even better!

Hi Carolyn, I’m Rachael, in Springfield, MA. The vast majority of my work is developmental evaluation. Thanks for thinking of starting a topic area on it!

Hey @c_camman and @R8chLawrence

You are both in-the-know evaluators. There are many, and probably many who will show up on this board, who have no clue what a developmental evaluator is or what they do. People who would probably ask, “what’s an MQP?” with a straight face.

Given that kind audience. Can you give a forum briefer on what you think it means to be a developmental evaluator?

Thanks, @clysy, that’s a great point. Even among developmental evaluators, I think it’s worth bringing some clarity to our different interpretations and understandings, which I’m sure we have!

So I would love to know how other people doing developmental evaluation work make sense of what we do. In the interests of generating dialogue and building community on this thread, I can put some questions out there for people to answer (and which I will come back and answer myself):

1. How do you define or describe developmental evaluation?
  2. What’s a burning question you have about DE?
  3. Where do you look for inspiration/wisdom/guidance about DE?

Okay, I’ll give it a shot @c_camman